Quicksilver Setup

Friday, April 6, 2007

When I was getting started using Quicksilver I was always hearing about all the great things it would do, but it was a struggle to get it set up the right way to get at that functionality. In order to prevent that struggle for others I am including my basic set up.

Read the rest of this entry »


Selling the Quicksilver Magic

Friday, April 6, 2007

I keep telling everyone they need to try out Quicksilver, that it is the most amazing app. Then they ask me what it does, and I generally say, “it’s hard to explain.” Which it is. Then I fumble around to demonstrate a few things that never seems to do it justice. I need Ron Popeil to pop out and say, “but wait, there’s more.”

Read the rest of this entry »


Quick Network Analysis With tcpdump

Friday, April 6, 2007

You see that light blinking like crazy on the switch, and want to see what it is that your systems is doing? If you are on a (u|li)n[i|u]x or bsd of some sort pick up a copy of tcpdump. If you are on OS X it is already included.

Read the rest of this entry »